Skip to content

Queens Award for Voluntary Services - The Harbour Project (Our Story)

In June last year, in the middle of what must be the toughest year in our history, the Harbour Project received the Queens Award for Voluntary Service. This is the highest award given to volunteer groups across the UK to recognise outstanding work in the community.

It seemed especially fitting to celebrate the best of human kindness at a time when we could not meet face to face. Every day, our volunteers give far more than we could ever ask of them and we could not function without their endless energy, commitment and resilience. This has certainly been tested to the full over the last 18 months.

Given current world events alongside the recognition afforded to us as a recipient of the QAVS, interest in our work from individuals, organisations and local businesses has significantly increased since June 2020. Applications from prospective volunteers continue to arrive and we feel confident that as a community, we are able to continue to meet the needs of our people and help to absorb some of the pain and pressures of the asylum process.

We are immensely proud to have been awarded QAVS and even prouder of all of our volunteers who made this possible.

About the Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service

Every day, millions of people across the UK are making a difference by volunteering.

Each year, outstanding examples of this work are celebrated through the Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service (QAVS). Created in 2002 for the Queen’s Golden Jubilee, QAVS awards have been shining a light on the fantastic work of voluntary groups for many years.

Equivalent to an MBE, QAVS are the highest awards given to local voluntary groups in the UK, and they are awarded for life.

They want to celebrate:

  1. Groups that are truly outstanding and making a big difference to their local community.
  2. Groups where volunteers, rather than paid staff, are in the driving seat.
  3. Groups that have highest standards in everything they do.


More information can be found on the awards website